Welcome to the Fredericksburg City Cemetery


            
Preserving the story of Fredericksburg's residents
                                                                                                                                                        Fredericksburg, Virginia

The Fredericksburg City Cemetery was established in 1844. Today, it continues to tell the story of Fredericksburg's history.

The cemetery adjoins the Confederate Cemetery on Washington Ave. Visitors are welcome; the cemetery closes at dusk.

For 165 years, the Fredericksburg Cemetery, also known as the Fredericksburg City Cemetery, has provided a final resting place for many of Fredericksburg's most notable and influential citizens. The personal stories of these citizens also reflect the story of Fredericksburg. Within this tranquil setting lie former mayors, civic leaders, educators, businessmen, professionals, religious leaders and soldiers. 

Familiar names, such as Quinn, Embrey, Wallace, Rowe, Stearns, Heflin, Braxton, Wheeler, Scott, Goolrick and Lacy grace beautifully crafted stone markers and monuments, which often document the accomplishments and achievement of the deceased.

Also lying in repose are those whose names are no longer familiar and whose personal stories have been lost to time. 

Collectively, the stories of all the persons interred within the cemetery testify to the enduring nature of Fredericksburg's illustrious heritage. 

The Fredericksburg City Cemetery has a waiting list should spaces become available for burials and interments. Please contact The Fredericksburg Cemetery Company, using the email form or phone number on the Contact Us page. 

Find us on Facebook.


You can help secure the future of the Cemetery by donating here through Paypal




This Massaponax sandstone gate on William Street was once the main entrance to the Fredericksburg City Cemetery. It is one of the oldest examples of Gothic architecture in Fredericksburg. The Fredericksburg Cemetery Company is seeking funding in hopes of restoring the gate to its original glory and functionality. 

           Photos by John Burke